5 November 2019
' Nominations Open '
17 January 2020
' Nominations Close '
3 February 2020
' Shortlist Announced '
17 February 2020
' Judges Deliberation Day '
25 March 2020
' Award Ceremony '



MEP Awards

Often referred as EU Oscars, the prestigious MEP Awards take place annually at the historical and sumptuous Concert Noble in Brussels, just a stone’s throw away from the EU institutions. The awards bring together European Parliament deputies, members of the Commission and Council, and the wider EU bubble, in raising a glass to the dedication and commitment of our elected European deputies.

The Parliament Magazine’s MEP Awards were established to recognise deputies who have contributed significantly to the legislative, supervisory and budgetary role of the European Parliament through their parliamentary activities.  In choosing the recipients of the MEP awards, regard is given to the nominee’s achievements in the year immediately prior to receiving the award, as well as their past achievements and ongoing contribution to the European Project and their national constituencies. 

We are often told by stakeholders and members of the public that they want to see the Parliament Magazine’s MEP Awards recognise those deputies that have helped change European society for the better; deputies whose challenges and triumphs are demonstrated in their actions, experiences and life journeys; MEPs that have taken risks, put in the time and effort and have had a positive impact on politics, policy and people.


  • 12 September 2019 – Website Launch
  • 5 November 2019 – MEP Awards Launch Reception
  • January 2020 – Nominations close
  • February 2020 – Shortlist announced
  • February 2020 – Judges panel deliberation day
  • 25 March 2020 – Awards ceremony

Every year I’m humbled by the enormous efforts that our MEPs put into making Europe, and the world a better place. They aren’t perfect, they are just people like you and I, but they work hard to make a difference, and that should be recognised.”  

Parliament Magazine Managing editor Brian Johnson.